Buying weed in Oregon is a fun event, You can get some of the best weed in the US here, But beware of certain things that we have listed here:
Employers Still Can—And Will—Drug Test
Several of the state’s biggest employers, including Fred Meyer, Intel, Bi-Mart and Dairy Queen, will still test current employees and prescreen potential employee for marijuana, despite its new legal status. Companies that employ people that will be operating heavy equipment are required to buy insurance, and normally require drug testing.
Most of the time even companies that hire workers who operate machinery also employ workers who do not but will still be required to take a test. The company will receive a lower monthly deductible if they test all of their employees across the board, which could be a huge reason as to why they still test.
Only a Quarter-Ounce per Customer, Please
Dispensaries will only be able to sell a quarter-ounce (7 grams) of marijuana per customer, per day. Residents are allowed different amounts for home storage.
Child Proof Packaging
In addition to their restrictions on sales per person, dispensaries are also required and must package their recreational marijuana in a specific way. It must be placed in an opaque (blurred) bag that is smell and child-proof.
Can I Grow Cannabis at My House?
Those who want to grow in their backyard or on the back porch will now be allowed to grow or cultivate their own marijuana for private consumption. They are only allowed a total of four plants per person, however, and each must be concealed or hidden from public view.
How Much Can I Have at My House?
Oregon residents will be permitted to keep plenty of dry marijuana in their home. They are allowed to store and keep eight ounces (more than thirty times the purchasing limits) in their home.
How Much Can I Travel With?
Traveling regulations and restrictions are stricter than regulations for home storage. Adults (21 and over) are now able to travel with up to one ounce, or four times the purchase limit, on their person.
Driving Under the Influence
Contrary to Washington law, which included regulations concerning driving impairment, Oregon’s law has more a little more wiggle room when it comes to interpretation. Driving under the influence of marijuana is considered and will be classified as a Class B Traffic Violation, which carries a presumptive fine of $260 and does not to exceed maximum fine of $2,000. The Oregon Liquor Control Commission has taken charge of researching the subject of drugged driving and presenting its finding to the Oregon Legislative Assembly no later than January 2017. After reviewing the OLCC report, the state legislative assembly will decide whether passing more extensive driving regulations will be necessary.