Licensed Oregon dispensaries that sell both medical and recreational marijuana collected taxes in January and officially turned them into the state between Feb. 1 and March 4, according to the Department of Revenue. The agency received a total of 253 tax payments.
Recreational marijuana retailers are obligated by law and accountable for collecting a 25 percent tax and forwarding the money to the state each month. Out of those payments, 137 were made by appointment, while 116 were made by mail. As reported by the Oregon Health Authority, there were a total of 309 dispensaries selling recreational marijuana products in January.
Dispensaries in Oregon need to take note and remember the following about marijuana tax payments:
- Taxes collected for February’s sales are due to the department by March 31.
- Be sure to register for a tax account before making their first payment.
- Vouchers need to be included with all payments.
- Cash, check, or money order are the only payment options.
- Cash payments are only accepted at the department’s main office in Salem. Appointments are required. Call (503) 945-8050 at least 48 hours in advance to schedule an appointment. Appointment times are limited, so please call early in the month.
**Registration forms, payment vouchers, and more information about the marijuana tax program are available at www.oregon.gov/dor/marijuana.
The first month of taxed recreational marijuana sales in Oregon brought in $3.48 million in taxes, the Oregon Department of Revenue announced Thursday.
(Photo Courtesy of www.notey.com)